If you’re ultimately trying to make changes with a live environment, you have to be careful. This process is designed to mitigate risks and lost productivity.

This is what you do after the build has been validated and you have created documentation.

  1. Plan maintenance window
  2. Notify users about maintenance window
  3. Backup data
  4. Lock users out
  5. Migrate changes (such as with changesets, force.com IDE, force.com migration tool, data loader or data import wizard)
  6. Unlock users

Once deployment is complete you should do these two things:

  1. Measure success (and/or adoption)
  2. Get feedback from users (send out satisfaction surveys and have people submit issues/requests through email)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s